A couple of days ago, I saw a picture on Facebook with the Văcărești Lake from Bucharest. It was a hidden gem until some years ago, when a television crew made a documentary related with the supposedly Bucharest’s delta. It seems that, if you are wandering in the area, you shouldn’t be surprised if you meet a fox or special types of birds. Unfortunately, it wasn’t the case for me, maybe by time the area started to change because of the human factor and also because of the huge fire from not so much time ago. From time to time I was passing the area, in my way to D’s mother: I was seeing green hills with grey pavement in the top, without knowing what’s behind. D was telling me that there it was a big lake, where he learned to swim and where a lot of his childhood games were happening. On a sunny day in 2014, we went for a small walk around it. A lot of contradictory feelings will come in your heart and mind: the park is surrounded by piles of cement and there’s no safe gate to enter it, but when you meet the horizon line everything changes… the mix between pure and wild nature with skyscrapers is overwhelming, at least this was my case.

Click on the photo below for more pictures.

DSC_2846

