Being more attracted by mountains, I used to avoid water holidays (this changed since I moved in NL) and due to lack of public transport I hadn’t manage to visit Danube’s Delta. I’ve been in Orșova, in one of our RoTrip, and that was the first encounter with Danube and her greatness. But, I still do remember how in secondary school I learned that Danube is coming from the Black Forest Mountains, Germany. I always imagined a small waterfall, in a dark forest, in the mountains; and I never had the curiosity to search it online until last week while thinking to visit my sister in Karlsruhe.

The road is going through the mountains and on each side small villages are under the blue spring sky, awaiting for strangers. Under the shadow of the woods snow was glowing, inviting you to have a deep in it. Entering Donaueschingen the church will steal your eyes and no other sign is needed to find the Danube fountain. The reality is so different from what I used to imagine: the pure water in the fountain, with green vegetation at the bottom is simply amazing in a sunny day and the reflection of the church and statues is stunning. From the fountain a gentle stream heads to a river near the castle (located next to the fountain, but closed) and this is how Danube is formed. A thread smaller than any canal in Netherlands is transformed in what is to be the second longest river in Europe. Sending a memory to Romania can be more poetic from Donaueschingen, instead of internet network, it could arrive back home with the mark of so many countries.

