In the early years of my student life I was dreaming with my open eyes about being on this road. I was searching for ways to reach it, but it was hardly impossible: no car, no Transfăgărășan. I tried 4 times to take my driving license (after 2012, when I visited it for the first time) and, as it seems, it is better without it.

After the road was declared as one of the best roads in the world by Top Gear it became a national pride, even if it didn’t changed over night only because of that. Passing the mountains, Transfăgărășan makes the connection between Transylvania and Muntenia (if you want to know more real facts you can check this). In 2012, when we first been on it, we had the pleasure to be completely covered by a dense fog: in seconds it was going away and coming back. In the 6 hours we’ve spent hanging around each corner, I was changing my heart all over again: fear, enthusiasm, nostalgia, happiness. The second time we’ve been there it was a sunny day and, this time, we managed to see more of the road and nature (there’s an waterfall we missed the first time). We even had the luck of the telecast working and enjoyed a return trip to the lake with it. In the top of the mountains, Bâlea Lake awaits together with dozens of vendors, trying to sell anything starting with food to souvenirs. Both times we bought some special cheese (burduf), sausages and enjoyed them on the road. There are several places to sleep in case you want to hike in the area, I never did this, but it’s on my list. And now that I think about it I should be immortal if I take into account my bucket list…

